• Synchronet for Linux on a Raspberry Pi

From Alec Aaron Roberts to All on Sat Apr 22 15:56:30 2017
    So i have a raspberry pi (marketed as a KANO computer for education), a 9 pin serial interface, and a US robotics modem. I'm not really a Linux expert, but i do know it's generally a nightmare to get working properly, especially on "funky" hardware like this, and setting up a BBS will add to the funkyness.
    My raspberry pi i BELIEVE Is the original one, says "Raspberry Pi, (c)2011.12" on it. I heard of one other BBS running on a raspberry pi before but i believe it is no longer active. If anyone has tips i would greatly appreciate it. It would be great if all the tricky work has been done by somebody else already so i just have to install everything. Linux kind of scares me but i really want to have my own BBS and this is the perfect hardware to leave running 24/7!
  • From DaiTengu to Alec Aaron Roberts on Sun Apr 23 14:54:08 2017
    Re: Synchronet for Linux on a Raspberry Pi
    By: Alec Aaron Roberts to All on Sat Apr 22 2017 03:56 pm

So i have a raspberry pi (marketed as a KANO computer for education), a 9 pin serial interface, and a US robotics modem. I'm not really a Linux expert, but i do know it's generally a nightmare to get working properly, especially on "funky" hardware like this, and setting up a BBS will add to the funkyness. My raspberry pi i BELIEVE Is the original one, says "Raspberry Pi, (c)2011.12" on it. I heard of one other BBS running on a raspberry pi before but i believe it is no longer active. If anyone has tips i would greatly appreciate it. It would be great if all the tricky work has been done by somebody else already so i just have to install everything. Linux kind of scares me but i really want to have my own BBS and this is the perfect hardware to leave running 24/7!

I keep meaning to pick up a Pi to play with, but I really haven't had the time. Running Synchronet on Linux is pretty easy in and of itself.